DAYALBAGH EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTE DAYALBAGH, AGRA-282005

MINUTES of the meeting of the Academic Council of the Dayalbagh Educational Institute held at 10.00 a.m. on 15.4.2023 (Saturday) in the Seminar Hall Complex of the Institute.

Members present

- 1 Prof. P.K. Kalra, Director In the Chair
- 2 Prof. Sharmila Saxena
- 3 Prof. Nandita Satsangee
- 4 Prof. C. Patvardhan
- 5 Prof. Sant Prakash
- 6 Prof. Bandana Gaur
- 7 Prof. J.K. Verma
- 8 Dr. Rajiv Ranjan
- 9 Prof. K. Santi Swarup
- 10 Prof. Sona Ahuja
- 11 Prof. Agam Kulshrestha
- 12 Dr. Meenakshi Thakur
- 13 Prof. Sangita Saini
- 14 Prof. Pramod Kumar
- 15 Prof. Savita Srivastava
- 16 Prof. N.P.S. Chandel
- 17 Prof. Sanjay Kumar Srivastava
- 18 Prof. Sukhdev Roy
- 19 Dr. S.K. Soni
- 20 Prof. Rohit Shrivastav
- 21 Prof. Gunjan Agrawal
- 22 Prof. Sangeeta Kumar
- 23 Prof. Sanjeev Swami
- 24 Prof. Kamaljeet Sandhu
- 25 Prof. Swami Prasad
- 26 Prof. Sandeep Paul
- 27 Dr. Archana Satsangi
- 28 Shri V.P. Malhotra
- 29 Dr. Mala Bal
- 30 Dr. A.K. Dwivedi
- 31 Dr. Prashant Suresh Chavan

Prof. Anand Mohan, Registrar - Secretary

- 1. The minutes of the last meeting of the Academic Council of the Dayalbagh Educational Institute (Deemed to be University) held on 16.2.2023 were confirmed.
- 2. With a view to impart higher education in the field of Agricultural Science and to facilitate research in the field of Agricultural Science, which is a growing need of the time, and for accreditation of B.Sc. Honours (Agriculture) course as per norms of Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), considered the proposal for recommending to the Governing Body (Board of Management) for renaming the existing "Department of Botany" as "Department of Agriculture Science", which will be functioning under the Faculty of Science as earlier. The proposal of DEI for accreditation at ICAR is under active consideration.

Resolved that the recommendation be made to the Governing Body (Board of Management) to rename the existing "Department of Botany" as "Department of Agriculture Science", which will function under the Faculty of Science.

<u>Members present</u> through on-line mode

- 1 Prof. Lovely Sharma
- 2 Dr. D.K. Chaturvedi
- 3 Dr. Suman Sharma
- 4 Prof. V.B. Gupta
- 5 Shri Rajiv Sinha
- 6 Prof. Pami Dua
- 7 Prof. Hazur Saran
- 8 Prof. P.K. Kalra, IITD

Invitees

- 1 Smt. Sneh Bijlani
- 2 Dr. Ashok Yadav
- 3 Shri Vinit Kumar
- 4 Prof. A.K. Saxena
- 5 Shri Gursewak Singh

3. Considered the proposal for starting B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture Science course at Rajaborari, Madhya Pradesh, other ICT Centers and Information Centers in synchronous mode from the session 2023-24 within the Country and abroad. This initiative is being taken by the Institute to provide higher level education for the welfare of tribals of Rajaborari Estate and opening opportunities; hitherto not even considered by other Central Universities.

Members discussed in length and noted the following-

(i) The Course B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture Science at Rajaborari, other ICT centers and Information centers within the country and abroad may be started in synchronous mode.

(ii) For running a post graduate program in Agriculture Science, specializations such as Logistics & Supply Chain, Frugal Innovation, Aquaculture, Micro Climatic Agriculture, Millets based Agriculture, Quantitative Agriculture, Agricultural Statistics etc. may be explored.

(iii) A few certificate programs in the area of Agriculture Science may also be started under CART similar to the course on Mushroom Technology.

(iv) Lateral transfers from various other programs offered by DEI to B. Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture Science may be permitted and a Committee consisting of the following members is constituted to formulate the norms and other criteria.

- (a) Prof. Pami Dua, Director, Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi
- (b) Dr. K. Usha, Division of Horticulture, IARI, New Delhi
- (c) Dr. C. Tara Satyavathi, Director, IIMR, Hyderabad
- (d) Dr. C. Bhardwaj, Division of Genetics, IARI, New Delhi
- (e) Prof. Sangita Saini, Head, Department of Home Science
- (f) Dr. S.K. Soni, Head, Department of Botany
- (g) Dr. Rajiv Ranjan, Department of Botany

Resolved that B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture be offered in synchronous mode at Rajaborari and other ICT Centres and Information Centers within the country and abroad be and is hereby recommended for approval of the Governing Body (Board of Management).

ANY OTHER ITEMS

- 1. Considered the proposal to recognize the work done by an individual which creates an impact on the Society and leads to a significant contribution in research and to award him/her a degree in Doctor of Philosophy and/or Honorary Degree of Doctor of Philosophy forgoing the regular formalities and to constitute a committee under the Chairmanship of Prof. Pami Dua with the following members:-
 - (i) Prof. Pami Dua, Director, Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi
 - (ii) Prof. Prem Kumar Kalra, IIT, Delhi
 - (iii) Prof. Huzur Saran, IIT, Delhi
 - (iv) Prof. Sanjeev Swami, Head, Department of Mangement
 - (v) Prof. Sukhdev Roy, Head, Department of Physics & Computer Science
 - (vi) Prof. C. Patvardhan, Head, Department of Electrical Engineering

Resolved that proposal be and is hereby recommended to the Governing Body (Board of Management) for its approval.

- 2. Considered the issue of Summer Internship under NEP 2020 which is already implemented in the Institute from the session 2022-2023. Members after deliberating at length have opined that-
 - (i) The form of summer internship under NEP2020 during entire programs of study should be in such a manner that students acquire some skills during the internship and after graduating may start becoming entrepreneur or eligible for Job.

It should be in accordance with real life practices, and it should be practical based rather than classroom teaching

- (ii) The Department of Sanskrit and Hindi may consider translating the signboards, Vedas, Upanishads and other religious Holy Books. Students may also be sent to the i-c-n-c TALL to get benefit from the Language Lab.
- (iii) During the internship, following must be observed:
 - (a) Students must submit an internship joining report signed by their mentor within a week of the start of internship.
 - (b) Teachers should visit the industry/institutions where students are doing internships and get feedback from their mentors there.
 - (c) Students must maintain a Daily Diary and the same should be signed by his/her mentors at the internship place.
 - (d) Performance report from the organization must be obtained by the departments,

Resolved that the above be and is hereby approved.

- 3. Considered constitution of a committee of the following members who will visit various Departments/Faculties of the Institute on 6th May 2023 and meet the faculty members to discuss their (Faculty) plans for implementing NEP 2020 in true spirit in their curriculum and also guide them.
 - (i) Mr. Rajiv Sinha, New Delhi
 - (ii) Prof. Pami Dua, Director, Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi
 - (iii) Prof. Prem Kumar Kalra, IIT, Delhi
 - (iv) Prof. Huzur Saran, IIT, Delhi

Resolved that the above be and is hereby approved.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Dated: 15.4.2023

Sd/-(Prof. Anand Mohan) REGISTRAR

Note: The appendices referred in these minutes relate to the agenda.