



A News letter of the DEI-Dayalbagh Chapter of Systems Society of India Available online at www.dei.ac.in/ssi/Paritantrika

Vol. 5

March 2011

No.1

PARITANTRA 2011 (March 6, 2011) Fourth Indian Students Systems Conference

PARITANTRA 2011, Fourth Indian Students Systems Conference was organized on March 6, 2011 at the Quantum-Nano Systems Centre in the DEI Research and Technology Park on the theme 'Growth Prospects for India in 2020 through Systems Modelling Approach'. Paritrantra is a Sanskrit word which stands for 'all-encompassing general systems' and true to its meaning, there was huge contribution from all systems, socio-economic, commerce and business systems to life-and-physical sciences and engineering systems.

PARITANTRA 2011 featured paper and poster contributions from students at other DEI Chapters of the Society located all over the country in various Distance Education centres. There were 65 oral presentations in 6 sessions and a poster session and the conference witnessed several hours of buzzing activity in all aspects of systems studies with a wide spectrum of topics being discussed.

The Valedictory Talk entitled "Understanding System Analysis and Design" was delivered by Prof. K.R. Padiyar, Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.







The best presentations of the day were awarded with Young Systems Scientist Awards. The winners were : Educational Systems R. Jevam

Life and Physical Sciences Systems

Bhakti Kumar, Sugandha Khurana Socio-Economic, Commerce and Business Systems

Humanities and Social Systems Engineering Systems Electronic and Computing Systems Poster Presentation Mukti Srivastava Bani Dayal Dhir Arsh Dayal, Amal Sharma Dayal Pyari Srivastava Anurag Saran, Ankit Mittal





Special Lecture on Innovations in Engineering Education by Prof. R. Mohan Mathur (February 26, 2011)

A Special Lecture was organized by the DEI-Dayalbagh Chapter of SSI on February 26, 2011 by Prof. R. Mohan Mathur, University of Western Ontario, Canada on the topic 'Innovations in Engineering Education'. It was attended by a large number of faculty members, students and researchers from DEI. Prof. Mathur highlighted the recent innovations in the field and also collaborative work started with IIT Jodhpur in the field.



XXXIV National Systems Conference (NSC 2010) at National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (December 10-12, 2010)

The XXXIV National Systems Conference (NSC 2010) was organized by National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal in collaboration with Systems Society of India from December 10-12, 2010. NSC 2010 witnessed three days of buzzing systemic activity in a wide spectrum of system disciplines ranging from literary systems to socio-economic systems, engineering systems to biological and chemical systems and a host of tutorial talks, invited and vision talks on various areas. The Annual General Body Meeting of Systems Society of India was held on the evening of December 10, 2010.

The Inaugural Talk was delivered by Dr. V.K. Aatre, Former Head of Defence Research and Development Organization, Bangalore. Prof. P.K. Kalra, President, Systems Society of India was the Guest of Honour and Prof. Sandeep Sancheti, Director, NITK Surathkal presided over the function.







In the Inaugural Function, Lifetime Achievement Awards were conferred by Systems Society of India on stalwarts in systems science and engineering who have brought the systems movement to its present state. The awardees are listed below :

- 1. Prof. K. R. Padiyar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
- 2. Prof. H.P, Khincha, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
- 3. Prof. B.S. Sonde, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
- 4. Dr. V.K. Aatre, DRDO, Bangalore

5. Prof. Gordon J. Savage, University of Waterloo (in absentia) After receiving the awards, the awardees gave a brief acceptance speech.

Systems Society of India has instituted several awards which include the National Systems Gold Medal, R.K. Varshney Award for Systems Theory, Young Systems Scientist Award and the SSI Vikram Award. The SSI Awards for year 2010 were conferred on the following scientists :

National Systems Gold Medal : Dr. Kota Harinarayana, National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore

R.K. Varshney Award in Systems Theory : Dr. J. Ramkumar, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Kanpur

Young Systems Scientist Award :

1. Dr. Sandeep Paul, Dayalbagh Educational Institute, Dayalbagh, Agra

2. Dr. Sudip Misra, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

3. Ms. Malvika Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

Vikram Award for real life systems of National importance : 1. Dr. Manoranjan Sinha, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

The tutorial / plenary talks were delivered by Dr. R.C. Bansal, University of Queensland, Australia, Prof. M. Seetharama Bhat, IISc Bangalore, Prof. S.S. Prabhu, IIIT Bangalore, Prof. S. Pushpavanam, IIT Madras, Shri Shankar Sharma, Power Policy Analyst, Prof. Siddhartha Mukhopadhyay, IIT Kharagpur, Dr. R.S. Hiremath, Flexitron Bangalore and Dr. Vijayan Immanuel, HCL Technologies Ltd.

A large contingent from DEI-Dayalbagh Chapter of SSI participated in NSC 2010. In the Valedictory Function, the Best Paper Presenters of each session were awarded. The following papers from DEI won the Best Paper Awards :

- 1. Mechanical Systems : Rahul Swarup Sharma and K. Hans Raj
- 2. Soft Computing Techniques : V. Prem Prakash
- 3. Communication & Image Processing Systems : Anshul Agrawal
- 4. Business and Social Systems : V. Srinath

XXXV National Systems Conference (NSC 2011) at IIT Bhubaneshwar (December 10-12, 2011)

The XXV National Systems Conference (NSC 2011) will be organized by School of Electrical Sciences, IIT Bhubaneshwar from December 9-11, 2011. The first call for papers has been issued.

Qualifications / Professional Experience for becoming a Life Member of Systems Society of India

It is a matter of great pleasure for SSI to open its membership to professionals with the following qualifications / experience : Arts

a) M.A. b) M.Phil.

c) B.A. with two years relevant professional experience Commerce

a) B.Com. with one year relevant professional experience b) M.Com.

Education

a) B.Ed. b) M.Ed.

Social Sciences

a) B.B.M. with one year relevant professional experience

b) M.B.A

c) B.A. (Social Sciences) with two years relevant professional experience

Science

a) B.Sc. with one year relevant professional experience (c) M.Phil.

b) M.Sc.

Engineering

a) B.Sc. (Engg.) / B.Tech. / B.E. b) M.Tech. **Diploma Holders**

a) Diploma in Engineering with 3 years relevant professional experience"

The application available online at www.sysi.org may be submitted through the nearest Chapter:

- 1. Aligarh 2. Bangalore 3. Calicut 4. Chandigarh 5. Chennai
- 6. Coimbatore 7. Dayalbagh 8. Delhi 9. Jaipur 10. Kanpur
- 11. Kharagpur 12. Lucknow 13. Ludhiana 14. Manipal 15. Noida
- 16. Secunderabad 17. Sikkim 18. Thiruvananthapuram

19. Visakhapatnam