Undergraduate Courses

Undergraduate Courses

The innovative and comprehensive programme of undergraduate studies in the Institute has many distinctive features. In addition to the main academic courses, the programme includes inter-disciplinary and ancillary electives, Work-based Training and Core Courses for all the students. The details are as follows:

·         Main Academic Studies

Two major subjects are offered from the faculty concerned under the relevant stream/branch.

·         Inter-disciplinary and Ancillary Electives

At least two half courses, of which one should be from a different faculty, are offered to further the cause of integrated education and also complement and support the major subjects.

·         Work-based Training

Practical training in applied work related to one of the major subjects is provided to create willingness and capacity to work with one's own hands, develop skill and generate a spirit of self-reliance.

·         Core Courses

With the purpose of overall development of the students and to inculcate human values in them, the following compulsory core courses are offered in different semesters:

Cultural Education: It gives pride in the national ethos so that one may not lose one's moorings.

Comparative Study of Religions: Concepts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Judaism, Christianity, Islam, the Sant Mat and Modern Religious Movements are introduced to students so as to inculcate in them an attitude of tolerance and a sense of national integration besides inculcating moral and spiritual values.

Scientific Methodology, General Knowledge and Current Affairs: It nurtures a scientific temper among students and makes them aware of the contemporary developments.

Rural Development: Study of rural society and economy has been introduced to foster a fuller understanding of the rural life with a view to appreciate properly the polity and the economy of our country and the social forces at work.

Agricultural Operations: It develops a sense of humility and dignity of labour and appreciation for the hard work farmers undertake.

Social Service: It is offered to engender the spirit of brotherhood of man and to facilitate the establishment of casteless and classless society. The following Programmes are included under social service:

1.    Village Adoption for Rural Reconstruction

2.    Adult and Continuing Education Programme.

Co-curricular Activities: Cultural & Literary activities, Games and Sports, and Discipline are compulsory parts of the curriculum for all-round development of the personality of individuals.

·         Co-operative Education Programme for BTech

After VI Semester, every BTech student has to undergo a 5 month internship in selected Industries under Co-operative Education Programme of DEI along with a few online courses. This enables him/her not only to understand the practical environment of Industry but also prepares him/her with a solid foundation of practical knowledge to face interviews and secure a good job.

scroll back to top

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 February 2024 22:19

Hits: 9133

Post-Graduate Courses

Post-Graduate Courses

(B) Postgraduate Courses

·      MA, MA(Social Science), MCom/MCom with Specializations in International Business, MSc (Home Science), MSc (Botany/Botany with Specialization in Plant and Microbial Technology/Chemistry /Computer Science/Mathematics/Mathematics with Specialization in Computer Applications/Physics /Physics with Specialization in Electronics / Physics with Specialization in Computer Science/ Zoology)

·      Candidates may seek admission to the Master’s Programme in a discipline other than the discipline of their Bachelor’s Degree (excluding the academic Programmes offered by Faculties of Education, Engineering, and Science), provided they pass the entrance test conducted for that discipline.                                                                                                         

The contents of these courses, their methods of teaching and evaluation are also innovative. The duration of the courses is of four terms each consisting of three semesters plus a summer term. At least two semesters are spent on course work, and the summer term and more than half of the last (third) semester on dissertation/project work.

·      MBA

MBA programme is of eight modules (9 weeks per module), wherein students undergo foundation, general management and business research related courses in the first three modules. Thereafter, they undergo one module of specialization before undertaking six month (two modules) internship in selected industries under Cooperative Education Programme of DEI. During the internship, a student has to undergo two online courses as well.  After completion of internship, a student continues with the specialization and general management courses in last two modules. Specialization streams available to the students of MBA are:

A.             Marketing                                                           Financial Management

B.             Human Resource Management                 *Information and Operations Management

C.             (* compulsory courses for all students)

·      MTech

MTech in Engineering Systems is offered by the Faculty of Engineering without and with specialization in Computer Science. The duration of the course is four semesters plus a summer term. However, the part-time MTech programme is offered in Engineering Systems without any specialization with a normal duration of eight semesters plus summer term.

·      MEd

The duration of the course is four semesters.

·      MPhil

MPhil Programme is of 2 Semester terms. The first Semester term is from January to April and the second one, is from May to August each year.  MPhil programme of 2 Semester duration in Education starts in July every year.

·       PhD

It is a full-time course. However, the staff of the Institute can be registered as part-time research scholars.  In addition to this, other candidates who are eligible for part-time registration under the joint supervision of a teacher at DEI and a co-supervisor who is a teacher of another institute of higher learning/university with which DEI has signed the Memorandum of Understanding, can be registered as part-time research scholars. PhD programme is available in all postgraduate departments of the Institute.  Application forms for PhD programme are available twice in a year in the months of February and August and the last date for submission of the Application form is 1st September or 1st March every year.

The Institute has fully implemented the UGC 2009 Guidelines for MPhil and PhD. Admissions are strictly on merit through Research Entrance Test (RET), Personal Interview and Academic Merit.  One semester course work is compulsory for candidates joining PhD without MPhil degree.

scroll back to top

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 February 2024 21:14

Hits: 14679